Numerous laws have been imposed in the US regarding texting while driving to put a check on increasing incidents of accidents. If you’re unaware about them, read this write-up…
We human beings have some default mechanism in our minds that inspires us to prove the law wrong and adjust our habits as per our convenience. Mocking the laws further leads to tragic accidents. It can’t be denied that laws do play a good role in discouraging drivers from using cell phone in cars, however, they’re beneficial only up to a certain level.
Just imposing cell phone and driving laws are not very useful. We have to give drivers technologies that can help them interact with others without getting distracted while driving. Numerous apps must be developed that informs the person on the call that the driver is busy driving, and so he or she can’t take up the call. This will also eliminate complaints of close ones that you’re ignoring them and not picking up their calls! There are applications like voice messages that can inform people calling that you’re driving.
|Alabama||Drivers age 16 and 17-year-old having intermediate license for less than 6 months.|
|Indiana||Drivers less than 18 years of age|
|Maine||Those having learner’s permit and intermediate license holders|
|Mississippi||Those having learner’s permit and intermediate license holders|
|Missouri||Drivers aged 21 years and younger|
|New Hampshire||All Drivers|
|New Jersey||All Drivers|
|New York||All Drivers|
|North Carolina||All Drivers|
|Oklahoma||School bus drivers and public transport system, intermediate license holders and those having permit|
|Rhode Island||All Drivers|
|Texas||For intermediate license holders for first twelve months; for drivers in school crossing zone and drivers who contain passengers less than 17 years of age|
|West Virginia||Drivers under 18 years license possessing intermediate license or a learner’s permit|
* – These laws are just for reference and may have minute variations. Readers are requested to consult official website of government to ensure about updated laws.
Laws Regarding Cell Phones Usage in US
- Following 9 states have imposed a ban of using handheld cell phones in the US. These are as follows: California, Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Utah, and Washington. The District of Columbia has also put a ban on using handheld phones in its jurisdiction.
- Texting is banned for all types of drivers in almost 30 states of the US, including the District of Columbia.
- Those who’re beginners in driving are banned from texting in nearly 8 states, that include Alabama, Indiana, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, Texas, and West Virginia.
- In Oklahoma and Texas, school bus drivers are banned from texting while driving.
It has to be understood that these laws are much more complex in their designing than they appear to be. Depending on every state, categorization of violation of texting may vary significantly. In many states, traffic control officers must have a reason for stopping your vehicle before they cite that you have been using your cell phone during driving. This may include rash or negligent driving, breaking the speed barrier, and defying other driving safety laws. More than 50% of teenagers accept that they do texting while driving. Governments are imposing numerous driving laws to ensure the safety of people. Moreover, awareness about the dangers of using cell phones while driving must also be spread amongst all in society.